Tags

, , ,

You might say Larry Clinton’s love of mayonnaise is undying. And he’s been loyal to one brand his entire life…Duke’s.

Larry Clinton loves mayonnaise.

Larry Clinton loves mayonnaise. (WBTV)

He tells  WBTV-TV he puts it on everything, “baloney sandwich, banana sandwich, I put it on peaches and pears and with cheese.”

The  Gastonia, South Carolina man revealed his final wish to his family at a funeral several years ago. “I said, you know, I think I want to be cremated, and put in a Duke’s Mayonnaise jar.”

aaa mayo

(WBTV)

“We laughed about it and thought it was kind of a joke,” said his wife, Sue Clinton.

But it wasn’t a joke to his daughter, who decided she would try to grant his wish. Teresa Clinton-Edge contacted the company that makes Duke Mayonnaise.

“I get an e-mail from the executive Vice President of C.F. Sauer, saying that they would be honored, she said.”

The company sent Larry Clinton two 32 ounce glass jars and custom made labels printed with his full name.

aaa label

(WBTV)

Sitting at a table with the jars in front of him, Clinton told the station he’s not at all disturbed to look at the containers that will one day hold his remains.

“One thing you have to learn is I’m not afraid of death, I’m a Christian and I know what’s going to happen,” he said.

A version of this story appears in CBSCharlotte.

