Tags

, ,

TYLER, Texas (CBS Houston) – “I need someone to come shoot my dog,” read the Facebook posting. “No one here has the heart to do it. We will provide the gun.”

The post ignited a firestorm after it went live Thursday, reports KYTX-TV.

The station was able to track the post to a woman who lives in Troup.

The son of the woman answered the door and told a reporter, “I know how the media works. You people are the f****ng devil.”

The woman eventually gave the dog to animal control officers. She told them she wanted the dog dead because she could no longer care for the animal and because the dog kept getting in the garbage.

The dog, Cinnamon, is a 3 year-old Saint Bernard/English bulldog mix. She was picked up by Nicholas Pet Haven and given to a foster family until she can be adopted.

A veterinarian examined Cinnamon and gave her a clean bill of health.

“It’s devastating,” animal shelter coordinator Nanette Moss told the station. “I work with these dogs every day. They are my life and when she walked through my door it just broke my heart. She’s a sweet dog and how can somebody shoot a sweet dog?”

